Chicken Jambalaya

August 10, 2011 at 10:54 pm (Chicken, Entrees, Fish/Seafood, Pork)

My first attempt at Jambalaya.  The problem…I had 4 pounds of smoked sausage in my fridge (thank you Publix sale and coupons), and I needed to find a new way to make it.  I’d mentioned it in the past to my hubby, on nights that I worked, “well, there’s that summer sausage in the fridge if you need something to make for you and the kids.”  And there it sat when I returned home.  Sigh.  No bites, I suppose.  I came up with Jambalaya thanks to an ingredient search on allrecipes.com.  I was a bit of a skeptic at first…wasn’t exactly sure if the family would revolt about ‘weird’ food being set before them, but oh well.  It sounded like a winner, and momma rolled with it.

It was deamed a success.  Hubby loved it (test #1), kids ate it without throwing up at the table (test #2…odd sounding, yet I speak from past experience), and it used up ingredients that I already had on hand.  Well, except for the shrimp.  I skipped that and just added more chicken.  Who knew I had all the makings on hand for something like this? 

We definitely had to multiply the recipe to make enough though…a serving for 2 wasn’t going to cut it.

Prep Time:  10 Min    //  Cook Time:  25 Min  //  Ready In:  35 Min

Servings  2

Ingredients

  •                     1 small onion, chopped
  •                     1 garlic clove, minced
  •                     1 tablespoon butter or margarine
  •                     1/4 pound fully cooked smoked sausage, cut into 1/2-inch slices
  •                     1/2 cup chicken broth
  •                     1/2 cup canned diced tomatoes, with juices
  •                     1/4 cup chopped green pepper
  •                     1 bay leaf
  •                     1/8 teaspoon dried thyme
  •                     1 dash cayenne pepper
  •                     1/4 cup uncooked long grain rice
  •                     1/2 cup cubed cooked chicken breast meat
  •                     1/4 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined

            Directions

  1. In a skillet, saute onion and garlic in butter until crisp-tender. Add the sausage, broth, tomatoes, green pepper, bay leaf, thyme and cayenne. Bring to a boil; add rice. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Add chicken and shrimp; cook 5-10 minutes longer or until shrimp turn pink and rice is tender. Discard bay leaf before serving.
Leave a Reply

